INDIAN MEAT SCIENCE ASSOCIATION (IMSA)



(Reg. No. 307/2001) ICAR-National Research Centre on Meat Chengicherla, Hyderabad-500092

Proceedings of the Executive Committee meeting

Date: 23 January 2023; Time: 4.30 PM – 5.30 PM; Platform: Zoom Meet

Executive Committee Meeting of Indian Meat Science Association was held on 23 January 2023 through virtual mode. Eighteen Members from IMSA, EC & JMS, EB have attended the meeting as below:

- 1. Dr P. K. Mandal, President, IMSA
- 2. Dr Vikas Pathak, Vice President
- 3. Dr M. Muthukumar, General Secretary
- 4. Dr B.M. Naveena, Chief Editor, JMSc
- 5. Dr Girish Patil, S., Editor, JMSc & Former Treasurer
- 6. Dr V. P. Singh, Joint Secretary
- 7. Dr. Rajeev Ranjan, Joint Secretary
- 8. Dr Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy, Joint Secretary
- 9. Dr Yogesh P. Gadekar, Treasurer
- 10. Dr Nadeem Fairoze, Member
- 11. Dr Meena Goswami, Member
- 12. Dr Rathod, Member
- 13. Dr Gauri Jairath, Former Member
- 14. Dr Pragathi Hazarika, Member
- 15. Dr Sagar Chand, Izatnagar
- 16. Dr. Tapas Ghosh, Kolkatta
- 17. Dr D.Santhi, Thanjavur
- 18. Dr Aravind Soni, Avikanagar

Detailed deliberations and discussions held in the meeting are as below:

- 1. Dr. M. Muthukumar, General Secretary, IMSA welcomed the Members to virtual meeting and appreciated and thanked former President and members of EC for their guidance and active contribution in the activities of IMSA. He also welcomed the newly elected President and EC members and sought their active cooperation and contribution in the future endeavours of IMSA.
- Dr. Mendiretta, Former President through message expressed his inability to attend the EC meeting due to preoccupied assignment, thanked the former EC for its cooperation, and conveyed his best wishes to the newly elected EC.
- 3. Dr.P.K.Mandal, newly elected President has thanked the former President and EC members for the excellent work they have done and also greeted the newly elected EC and asked their cooperation and active role to make the association more active and vibrant.
- 4. Dr. M. Muthukumar, General Secretary briefed about the agendas proposed for the EC meeting. The first agenda was about the proceeding of XI AGM held at NRC on Meat, Hyderabad. It was decided to include Dr.Sathu from Kerala in the executive Committee in place of Dr. Arvind Soni who already working in the Editorial board of JMS.
- 5. It was also decided to constitute committees to be chaired by following EC members to review the respective proforma for various IMSA awards as below

Dr.Manish K. Chatli – IMSA Fellow Award (Academic)

Dr.A.R.Sen – IMAS Fellow (Industry)

Dr. Vikas Pathak - Young Scientist Award

Dr.A.K.Das - Best Ph.D. Thesis Award

Dr.V.P.Singh - Best Master Thesis Award

Dr.P.K.Mandal - Dr.V.V.Kulkarni Award for significant contribution in the field of meat Byproducts and slaughterhouse waste utilization.

Above Chairmen are empowered to select up to 3 members of their choice to complete the task and submit the revised proforma within 3 months for the approval of the EC.

6. Dr. Vijaya Bhasker Reddy and Dr.Sagar Chand were selected with their willingness to look after the IMSA website updating and management and Dr. Rajiv Ranjan was assigned to do the needful to update the members list including compilation of email ids and adding the members in the Whatsup group.

- 7. Dr. Vikas Pathak has informed the house about the approval of Vice Chancellor, DUVASU to organize IMSACON XII at DUVASU, Mathuraduring December 2023. He will be sharing a few Symposium Themes with EC members and the same will be finalized with the inputs from EC members.
- 8. Dr. Mandal, Chief Editor has informed the house that the ACS Publishers has requested to submit a recommendation through a Veterinary University for UGC-CARE listing of Journal of Meat Science and Dr. Vikas Pathak and Dr.Meena have been asked to do the needful for the same.
- 9. The President, IMSA expressed a special drive for IMSA membership to reach 1000 numbers, requesting all the EC members to work for that and to do their assigned task in a best possible way well in time. The meeting ended with president thankingthe active participation of all Members in the meeting and wishedthem a very good year ahead.

